Connect with us

XFL News

XFL Announces Inaugural Season Awards, Fan Voting Open Now For XFL Play of the Year

Starting today, fans are eligible to vote for XFL Play of the Year on YouTube

Arlington, TX – April 26, 2023 – The XFL today announced the name, descriptions, and nomination and voting details for its inaugural season awards. The XFL Awards will recognize the best players, coaches, and performances of the season and will be announced at the conclusion of the regular season each year.

Nomination and Voting Details:

With the exception of “XFL Play of the Year”, the Head Coaches and Directors of Player Personnel from each XFL team will submit nominations and vote for all of the XFL Awards.

The “XFL Play of the Year” will be voted on by fans following the below instructions:

1.    Round 1 (April 26-30): Fans will vote for the top play of the season for each XFL team

2.    Round 2 (May 1-7): Once each team’s top play has been nominated, voting will take place to determine the overall top XFL Play of the Season

Fans can vote for each team’s top plays on YouTube beginning today by clicking here:

Annual XFL Awards:

Coach of the Year – to be awarded to the XFL coach who had the most distinguished coaching performance and record this season, as determined by their peers. (To be announced May 2)

Special Teams Player of the Year – to be awarded to a player on the special team’s squad, including players who made an impact on point-after-touchdown conversions, with the most exceptional performance this season. (To be announced May 3)

Defensive Player of the Year – to be awarded to the defensive player deemed to have had the most exceptional performance this season. (To be announced May 4)

Offensive Player of the Year –to be awarded to the offensive player deemed to have had the most exceptional performance this season. (To be announced May 5)

All-XFL Team – to be awarded to the top players in each of the following positions: QB (1), RB (1), WR (3), TE (1), OT (2), OG (2), C (1), DL (4), LB (3), DB (4), P (1), K (1), Return Specialist (1) (To be announced May 8)

XFL Play of the Year (FAN VOTE) – XFL fans will have the opportunity to participate in the voting for the XFL Play of the Year, the most exciting, innovative, or shocking play that captured the spirit of the XFL. (To be announced May 8)


The XFL is a fan-first, fast-paced global professional football league with innovative rules and an enhanced 360-degree game experience. Anchored in world-class football, the XFL brings entertainment and innovation to advance the sport, expand player opportunities, and change the way that fans experience the game. The XFL has eight teams in Arlington (TX), Houston (TX), Las Vegas (NV), Orlando (FL), San Antonio (TX), Seattle (WA), St. Louis (MO), and Washington D.C.. The XFL is owned by Dany Garcia, Dwayne Johnson, and Gerry Cardinale’s RedBird Capital Partners and launched in February 2023.

Unleash the Action: Sign up for XFL Insider and Fuel Your Passion for Football!

Mark Perry, a passionate sports journalist and the founder and editor of XFL News Hub, has been at the forefront of covering the XFL since its revival in 2018. Within days of the XFL's announced return, Mark initiated XFL News Hub to keep the fans abreast of every detail, game, and development of the league. Mark's extensive knowledge of the sport, combined with his unwavering dedication to providing comprehensive and accurate reporting, has made XFL News Hub the go-to platform for all things related to the XFL. His work over the years has brought him recognition in the world of sports journalism, solidifying his place as a leading voice in XFL coverage. Beyond just reporting, Mark believes in fostering a community around the XFL, engaging fans through his innovative content and discussions. If you have any inquiries, comments, or insights you'd like to share, Mark welcomes you to contact him directly at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in XFL News