Connect with us

DC Defenders

DC Defenders QB Ta’amu Named 2023 XFL Offensive Player of the Year

Quarterback led D.C. Defenders to XFL North Division Championship

Arlington, TX – May 5, 2023 – D.C. Defenders quarterback Jordan Ta’amu has been named the 2023 XFL Offensive Player of the Year. Ta’amu helped lead the Defenders to a 9-1 regular season record and a berth in the XFL Championship Game. All of the 2023 XFL awards were voted on by each team’s respective head coach and/or Director of Player Personnel.

Ta’aumu finished the regular season 143-of-229 passing for 1,894 yards and 14 touchdowns with just three interceptions. His interception total was the lowest among XFL quarterbacks with more than 150 passing attempts, while his passing yardage and touchdown totals both ranked No. 3 in the league. Ta’amu was also effective rushing the ball, ranking No. 7 in the XFL with 298 rushing yards and three touchdowns. He ranked No. 2 in the XFL in total offense (215.2 yards per game).

The D.C. offense, with Ta’amu at the controls for much of the season, ranked No. 1 in scoring offense (29.6 points per game), No. 1 in rushing offense (140.8 yards per game) and No. 2 in total offense (343.2 yards per game) in the regular season.

Ta’amu and the D.C. Defenders will face the Arlington Renegades in the 2023 XFL Championship Game. The 2023 XFL Championship Game will be played at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT Saturday, May 13 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas and will air nationally on ABC.

In addition to Ta’aumu’s award, the XFL previously announced D.C. Defenders head coach Reggie Barlow as the 2023 XFL Coach of the Year, St. Louis Battlehawks wide receiver Darrius Shepherd as the 2023 XFL Special Teams Player of the Year and Vegas Vipers linebacker Pita Taumoepenu as the 2023 XFL Defensive Player of the Year.  The 2023 All-XFL teams will be announced Monday, May 8.

For more information, visit and follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

About XFL

The XFL is a fan-first, fast-paced global professional football league with innovative rules and an enhanced 360-degree game experience. Anchored in world-class football, the XFL brings entertainment and innovation to advance the sport, expand player opportunities, and change the way that fans experience the game. The XFL has eight teams in Arlington (TX), Houston (TX), Las Vegas (NV), Orlando (FL), San Antonio (TX), Seattle (WA), St. Louis (MO), and Washington D.C.. The XFL is owned by Dany Garcia, Dwayne Johnson, and Gerry Cardinale’s RedBird Capital Partners and launched in February 2023.

Unleash the Action: Sign up for XFL Insider and Fuel Your Passion for Football!

Mark Perry, a passionate sports journalist and the founder and editor of XFL News Hub, has been at the forefront of covering the XFL since its revival in 2018. Within days of the XFL's announced return, Mark initiated XFL News Hub to keep the fans abreast of every detail, game, and development of the league. Mark's extensive knowledge of the sport, combined with his unwavering dedication to providing comprehensive and accurate reporting, has made XFL News Hub the go-to platform for all things related to the XFL. His work over the years has brought him recognition in the world of sports journalism, solidifying his place as a leading voice in XFL coverage. Beyond just reporting, Mark believes in fostering a community around the XFL, engaging fans through his innovative content and discussions. If you have any inquiries, comments, or insights you'd like to share, Mark welcomes you to contact him directly at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

XFL Kickoff

XFL News Alerts

USFL and XFL Merger: A Deep Dive into the Historic Collaboration

Latest Podcast

Subscribe XFL Podcast

Get Alerts & Stay Connected

More in DC Defenders

XFL News Hub