Connect with us


How Many XFL Teams Are There, History of XFL Teams In The Three Different Version

The XFL is a professional American football league that was founded in 2001 by Vince McMahon, the chairman and CEO of World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE). The league ran for just one season before shutting down due to financial losses. However, the league was revived in 2020 with eight teams, before suspending operations due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The original XFL in 2001 had eight teams, divided into two divisions. The Eastern Division included the Birmingham Thunderbolts, Chicago Enforcers, New York/New Jersey Hitmen, and Orlando Rage, while the Western Division included the Las Vegas Outlaws, Los Angeles Xtreme, Memphis Maniax, and San Francisco Demons. The league played a 10-week schedule, followed by playoffs and a championship game.

The 2020 revival of the XFL featured eight teams as well, with four teams in each of the Eastern and Western Conferences. The Eastern Conference included the DC Defenders, New York Guardians, St. Louis BattleHawks, and Tampa Bay Vipers, while the Western Conference included the Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, Los Angeles Wildcats, and Seattle Dragons. The league played a 10-week schedule, followed by playoffs and a championship game.

The league filed for bankruptcy in April 2020 after the COVID-19 pandemic forced the league to suspend operations mid-season. The league was purchased out of bankruptcy by Dwyane ‘The Rock’ Johnson, his business partner Dany Garcia and RedBird Capital Partners.

The 2023 XFL 3.0 return features eight teams as well, with four teams in each of the North and South Divisions. The North Divisions included the DC Defenders, St. Louis Battlehawks, Seattle Sea Dragons, and Vegas Vipers, while the South Division includes the Orlando Guardians, Arlington Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, and San Antonio Brahmas. The league began play in February 2023 with a 10-week schedule, followed by playoffs and a championship game.

The XFL 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0 versions all included eight teams. The XFL 3.0 championship game with take place in May in San Antonio.

Unleash the Action: Sign up for XFL Insider and Fuel Your Passion for Football!

Mark Perry, a passionate sports journalist and the founder and editor of XFL News Hub, has been at the forefront of covering the XFL since its revival in 2018. Within days of the XFL's announced return, Mark initiated XFL News Hub to keep the fans abreast of every detail, game, and development of the league. Mark's extensive knowledge of the sport, combined with his unwavering dedication to providing comprehensive and accurate reporting, has made XFL News Hub the go-to platform for all things related to the XFL. His work over the years has brought him recognition in the world of sports journalism, solidifying his place as a leading voice in XFL coverage. Beyond just reporting, Mark believes in fostering a community around the XFL, engaging fans through his innovative content and discussions. If you have any inquiries, comments, or insights you'd like to share, Mark welcomes you to contact him directly at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

XFL Kickoff

XFL News Alerts

USFL and XFL Merger: A Deep Dive into the Historic Collaboration

Latest Podcast

Subscribe XFL Podcast

Get Alerts & Stay Connected

More in Columns

XFL News Hub